Fixed vs Handheld vs Combo Shower Heads: Which to Buy
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Fixed vs handheld vs combo shower heads comes down to where the water needs to go. A fixed head mounts on the shower arm and sprays from one spot. A handheld head sits on a hose and bracket, so you can aim it at your back, your legs or a tub wall. A combo pairs a fixed head with a handheld and uses a diverter or knob to choose between them. This guide explains the trade-offs, then compares six Amazon listings, two of each type, and marks every spec a listing does not state. Read the flow section before you buy.
Quick answer
- Pick fixed if you mostly stand in one spot and want an overhead spray. You cannot aim a fixed head at another part of your body without moving.
- Pick handheld if you need to rinse a pet, clean a tub or reach a spot the overhead head misses. Neither handheld in this set states a hose length.
- Pick combo if you want both modes in one unit. Both combos in this set state a hose length: 60 inches for the Moen Verso and 71 inches for the Newfinde.
- Check the flow marking before you buy. None of the six listings gives a gallons-per-minute figure, and WaterSense-labelled heads must be marked with their maximum flow.
How we chose
The three listing searches covered fixed-only heads, handheld-only heads and handheld-and-fixed combos. The listing pages were read on 2026-10-22. Twenty-six candidate IDs were left out before that read. Twenty were on an internal exclusion list. Six had already been used or excluded in earlier runs, or duplicated a model already excluded. That left two fixed, two handheld and two combo listings, six in all.
The criteria were plain. Each listing had to be the head type its group names, and the post reports only the specs the listing states. Where a spec is missing, the table and the text say not stated. Bullet points that made body or wellness claims were left out. The six listings are a selection for comparison, not a ranking, and this post does not say which one performs best.
Fixed, handheld or combo: how to decide
Coverage. The EPA’s consumer page says spray force and spray coverage were the criteria that most influenced user satisfaction. A fixed head covers the area beneath it, and a handheld covers whatever you point it at. The sources we opened do not compare coverage across the three types, so read each listing’s spray settings and decide from there. A combo gives you both styles, but only the Newfinde listing gives a settings count for each head.
Reach and hose. A handheld moves with you, so its reach depends on the hose. Neither of the two handhelds lists a hose length. Both combos do: 60 inches on the Moen Verso 220C2 and 71 inches on the Newfinde SD7023. The Verso listing calls its metal hose kink-free. Measure from the arm to the farthest spot you need to reach before you choose. For a longer-reach setup, see handheld shower heads with extension hoses.
Mounting. A fixed head replaces the one on your arm. The NJ guidance says to try removing the old head by hand first. Moen’s magnetic docking sheet notes that a wrench may be needed to remove the existing head. A handheld needs a bracket on the arm, and the Moen handheld sheet says to hand-tighten that bracket onto the shower arm. The Verso listing says it screws onto an existing arm, and the Newfinde listing includes an installation kit. If you want the head at a different height, see sliding shower heads or handheld shower heads that mount on a slide bar.
Thread tape. The sources do not agree. DOE’s installer aid says to use thread tape at every connection. The NJ guidance describes wrapping thread seal tape clockwise two or three times around the arm threads. One Moen sheet says to add tape to the shower arm threads, but another Moen handheld sheet says tape is not recommended for that project. This post cannot tell which Moen model each sheet covers, so follow the sheet packed with your head and check the arm threads first.
Cleaning. Mineral buildup is the cleaning problem the sources describe most. The NJ guidance says naturally occurring minerals build up and block the nozzle holes that water passes through. The NDSU extension says a whitish buildup on the ends of faucets and shower heads is probably the most obvious sign of hard water. The NJ steps are a vinegar soak and, for holes still blocked, a needle or straightened paper clip. That guidance is written for shower heads in general, not for one type. The GUSTANO fixed head describes a flip faceplate for rinsing or vinegar soaking, and the Delta handheld describes anti-clog nozzles for mineral deposits. None of the sources gives soak limits by finish.
Water flow. None of the six listings gives a gallons-per-minute figure. The EPA says standard showerheads use 2.5 gallons per minute, and its WaterSense specification sets a limit of 2.0 gpm or less. The specification counts hand-held showers as showerheads, so the same limit covers handhelds. For a combo, the WaterSense label is allowed only if each head meets the requirements and the whole device meets the flow limit in every operating mode. Neither combo in this set claims the label. If water use is your main concern, compare water-efficient handheld shower heads before you decide.
The six listings
Each listing below gives its type, what the listing says, a skip-if line, one limitation and a product link. Where a listing is silent, the text says not stated.
Fixed: NearMoon NM-SHS-802 rain shower head
Type: fixed only. What the listing says: an 8 inch square face in chrome, with a single rain spray. The bullets describe 100 silicone nozzles, list the material as 100% solid stainless steel, and describe a swivel ball connector. The listing says installation is tool-free, takes a few minutes, and suits wall-mounted or ceiling-mounted shower arms. The title uses high-flow and high-pressure wording, but the listing gives no gallons-per-minute figure to check that wording against. The connection size, filter, certification and any spray settings beyond the rain spray are not stated.
Skip if you need a flow figure before you buy, or you want a head you can aim at your legs or back.
Limitation: without a flow figure or a named certification, the listing shows the look and the mounting method but not the water-use number that the EPA specification is built around. The mounting notes in the decision section apply if you swap this head.
Fixed: GUSTANO XFD004 flip-face head
Type: fixed only. What the listing says: a fixed head with a flip faceplate, listed with four spray modes, named high pressure, soft rain, power rain and a pulsating mode. The title describes the head as patented, but the listing gives no patent number. The bullets describe a 360-degree adjustable swivel ball joint and give the connection as a universal standard G 1/2 inch interface. Installation is hand-tightened, and Teflon tape is included. Face size, material, flow rate and filter are not stated.
Skip if your finish is one you cannot confirm for a vinegar soak, since the sources give no soak limits by finish.
Limitation: the listing states no face size, material or flow figure, so the flip faceplate and the vinegar note are the main points you can check on the page.
The listing says the flip faceplate allows rinsing or soaking in vinegar to remove limescale. The NJ cleaning guidance describes the same kind of soak, so the cleaning notes in the decision section apply to this head as well.
Handheld: Delta 75700 Touch-Clean hand shower
Type: handheld only. What the listing says: a chrome hand shower sold with a hose and a mounting bracket. The listing names seven spray settings, including full body, wide full body, drenching, energy saving and pause. It describes Touch-Clean spray holes and anti-clog nozzles for mineral deposits. The product table gives the item type as Universal Hand Shower and the weight as 1.45 lb. The hose is included, but its length is not stated. The listing does not say whether the bracket needs tools or a drill, and flow rate, material and connection are not stated.
Skip if hose length matters to you, because this listing leaves it out.
Limitation: the listing gives no flow figure, so you cannot compare its water use with the 2.0 gpm limit from the listing alone.
The hose is included and the bracket is named but not described, so check the packed instructions before you start the install.
Handheld: Moen Engage Magnetix 26100EP
Type: handheld only. What the listing says: a chrome handheld with a 3.5 inch face, listed as a six-function model. The bullets name functions including pause, rinse and downpour. The head snaps into a magnetic dock, and the product table lists a hose and mounting bracket as included. The hose length is not stated. The bullets refer to lower gallons per minute but give no figure. The bullets also say the head is WaterSense certified and meets EPA WaterSense criteria. The listing gives no certificate number, and the material and connection are not stated.
Skip if you need a hose length on the listing, or you want the WaterSense claim confirmed before you buy.
Limitation: the WaterSense statement is the listing’s own. The EPA specification says conformance must be certified by an EPA licensed certifying body, and the sources we opened do not confirm this product’s certification.
Two Moen sheets in the sources describe handheld installs with different tape advice, and this post cannot tell which sheet matches this model. Read the sheet packed with the head before you wrap the threads.
Combo: Moen Verso 220C2 rainshower and handshower
Type: combo. What the listing says: a 7 inch rainshower with a pivoting face, and a detachable handshower with an Infiniti dial. The dial gives adjustable spray patterns, but the number of settings is not stated. The hose is 60 inches of metal that the listing describes as kink-free. The bullets say the rainshower and handshower can run separately or together, and the product table lists a 3-way diverter. The package includes three washers, one already installed. The listing says the head screws onto an existing shower arm without professional installation. The head material, connection and flow rate are not stated.
Skip if you need a settings count or a flow figure before you buy.
Limitation: the listing gives no flow figure for either mode, so the page cannot show how much water runs when both are on.
The listing makes no WaterSense claim, so the combo labelling rule covered above does not apply to it as listed. The hose length is the figure to compare first if reach matters to you.
Combo: Newfinde SD7023 rainfall and handheld set
Type: combo. What the listing says: a 10 inch fixed rain head and a handheld head, with five spray settings on each, which the product table totals at ten. A front-facing knob sends water to the rain head, the handheld, or both. The handheld snaps back into a magnetic dock. The hose is 71 inches of stainless steel. The product table lists an installation kit, a spare washer and a user manual. The bullets say water use is reduced by up to 20 percent, but the listing gives no baseline and no gallons-per-minute figure. The bullets say the design is patented, with no number. The finish, head material and connection are not stated.
Skip if the claimed water reduction matters to you, because the listing gives no baseline for it.
Limitation: the bullets use tool-free wording, but the listing ties that wording to the front knob, so tool-free mounting of the head is not stated.
The listing includes an installation kit but does not say which arm types it fits. At 71 inches, the stated hose is the longest in this set, so the reach notes above matter most here.
The table uses only what each listing states. Not stated means the listing does not give that spec.
| Listing | Type | Face or head size | Spray settings | Hose | Flow rate | Connection | Certification named |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NearMoon NM-SHS-802 | Fixed | 8 inch square | Single rain spray | Not applicable | Not stated | Swivel ball connector; size not stated | Not stated |
| GUSTANO XFD004 | Fixed | Not stated | Four modes | Not applicable | Not stated | Universal standard G 1/2 inch interface (listing wording) | Patented; number not stated |
| Delta 75700 | Handheld | Not stated | Seven settings | Included; length not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Moen Engage Magnetix 26100EP | Handheld | 3.5 inch | Six functions | Included; length not stated | Not stated | Not stated | WaterSense (listing says); no certificate number |
| Moen Verso 220C2 | Combo | 7 inch rainshower | Dial; number not stated | 60 inch metal, kink-free (listing) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfinde SD7023 | Combo | 10 inch rain head | Five on each head; ten total | 71 inch stainless steel | Not stated | Not stated | Patented; number not stated |
What the sources say about flow and pressure
The EPA WaterSense specification in the sources is the Version 1.0 PDF dated March 4, 2010. It counts hand-held showers as showerheads. It sets a rated flow of 2.0 gallons per minute or less. The maximum is the highest reading from tests at flowing pressures of 20, 45, and 80 psi. Minimum flow is tested too: at 20 psi it must be at least 60 percent of the maximum, and at 45 and 80 psi it must be at least 75 percent.
The EPA consumer page says a WaterSense showerhead must use no more than 2.0 gpm, while standard showerheads use 2.5 gallons per minute. It also says WaterSense products must be independently certified against EPA water efficiency and performance criteria. On minimum flow, it says the requirement is there so that a head provides a minimum flow across a range of household water pressures. The specification also requires the maximum flow rate, in gpm and L/min, to be marked on the product.
Flow depends on the pressure the house supplies. The EPA test runs each head at several pressures to show how it performs across that range. The Oklahoma State extension sheet gives an ideal residential range of about 40 to 60 psi, but that sheet is about irrigation, so treat the figure as a general residential number, not a shower range. The Virginia Tech extension says mineral scaling in pipes can reduce water flow and pressure. None of the sources we opened says a shower head changes house pressure, so this post makes no such claim.
The DOE page quotes the federal Energy Policy and Conservation Act, which defines a showerhead as including a handheld showerhead. The same page says DOE published a final rule repealing the definition of showerheads, effective May 15, 2025. The sources we opened do not say how that repeal affects handheld heads, so this post does not say handheld heads are covered by the federal rule today. The EPA specification’s own definition does include hand-held showers.
What we could not verify: what the sources do not say
- No listing in this set gives a gallons-per-minute figure, so none of the six can be checked against the 2.0 gpm limit from its listing alone.
- The sources do not state the thread size of a shower arm. Check the arm or the instruction sheet before you buy, and do not assume a size.
- The sources do not give soak limits for brass, nickel, gold or matte black finishes. The manufacturer care pages were refused or not reached, so finish-specific cleaning is unverified.
- The sources give no shower filter cartridge life or replacement interval. None of the six listings states a filter, so filter life is outside this comparison.
- The sources do not give a standard height for a shower head above the floor.
- No source we opened says a shower head changes house pressure, so this post does not make that claim.
- The only residential pressure range comes from an irrigation fact sheet, so it is not a shower-specific range.
- The NJ cleaning guidance gives no schedule for how often to clean a head, so this post gives none.
- The EPA consumer page mentions a test change made to accommodate water-efficient rain showers. The sources we opened do not give the criteria for that change.
- The EPA specification in the sources is Version 1.0. The EPA showerhead page says Version 1.1 made minor changes, and the Version 1.1 text is not among the sources used here.
- The two Moen handheld sheets disagree on thread seal tape, and the sources do not say which model each sheet covers.
- Two listings say their heads are patented, but neither gives a patent number, so this post cannot check that claim.
- The Moen Engage WaterSense statement is the listing’s own. The sources we opened do not confirm any product’s certification.
Frequently asked questions
Is a combo head better than a fixed head?
The sources we opened do not rank the three types, so no type is better in general. A combo puts a fixed head and a handheld in one unit, which covers overhead rinsing and aimed spraying. For a fixed-plus-handheld setup on a slide bar, see dual shower heads with a slide bar. Check the hose length and the flow marking before you pick a model.
Does a handheld head count as a showerhead under federal rules?
The EPA specification counts hand-held showers as showerheads. The DOE page quotes the federal statute the same way, as including a handheld showerhead. The DOE page also says DOE published a final rule repealing the definition of showerheads, effective May 15, 2025. Read the current DOE page before you rely on either point.
Will a high pressure head fix low water pressure?
None of the sources we opened says a shower head changes house pressure, so this post does not claim that a head fixes low pressure. The Virginia Tech extension publication says mineral scaling in pipes can reduce flow and pressure. None of the six listings says it changes supply pressure either. Readers comparing high-pressure heads with water-saving features can see high-pressure shower heads that save water, along with the limits above.
Which flow number should I look for?
If you want a WaterSense head, look for a maximum flow rate of 2.0 gallons per minute or less. The EPA specification requires the maximum flow in gpm and L/min on the product, and the packaging must show it too. The EPA technical sheet also tells verifiers to check that gpm marking on the showerhead. None of the six listings gives the figure, so check the marking before you buy.
Do I need thread tape on a handheld?
The sources disagree. DOE’s installer aid says to use thread tape at all connections. One Moen sheet says to add it to the shower arm threads, while another Moen handheld sheet says thread seal tape is not recommended for that project. Follow the sheet packed with your head, and check the arm threads before you wrap anything.
How do I clean a fixed head with a flip face?
The NJ guidance describes removing the head, submerging it in distilled white vinegar and letting it soak overnight. For holes still blocked by mineral deposits, it suggests a needle or straightened paper clip. The GUSTANO listing describes a vinegar soak for its flip faceplate too. The sources give no soak limits by finish, so check the care guidance for your finish before you soak.
Bottom line
Choose the type that covers the job you do most often: fixed for a steady overhead rinse, handheld for aimed spraying, and a combo when you need both on one unit. Then check the gallons-per-minute marking and the hose length before you buy, because none of the six listings states a flow figure.
Sources
- U.S. EPA, WaterSense Specification for Showerheads, Version 1.0 PDF, March 4, 2010: https://www.epa.gov/sites/default/files/2017-01/documents/ws-products-spec-showerheads.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. EPA, WaterSense: Showerheads consumer page: https://www.epa.gov/watersense/showerheads (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. EPA, WaterSense Homes TRM 4: Showerheads Tech Sheet, July 2023: https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2023-08/ws-homes-TRM-4-ShowerheadsTechSheet.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. Department of Energy, Showerheads: https://www.energy.gov/eere/buildings/showerheads (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. Department of Energy, Install a Low-Flow Showerhead, Weatherization Installer Job Aid 24-1, July 2024: https://www.energy.gov/sites/default/files/2024-07/24-1_install-low-flow-showerhead.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- Moen, Handheld Shower Installation Guide INS10819: https://assets.moen.com/shared/docs/instruction-sheets/ins10819.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- Moen, Magnetic Docking Handheld Shower Instruction Sheet INS10567A: https://assets.moen.com/shared/docs/instruction-sheets/ins10567a.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- New Jersey Department of Health, Guidance for Removing and Cleaning a Shower Head: https://nj.gov/health/cd/documents/topics/legion/ShowerHead_Cleaning_Guidance.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- North Dakota State University Extension, Water Softening (Ion Exchange): https://www.ndsu.edu/agriculture/extension/publications/water-softening-ion-exchange (opened 2026-10-21)
- Virginia Tech Extension, Hardness in Household Water, publication 442-664: https://www.pubs.ext.vt.edu/442/442-664/442-664.html (opened 2026-10-21)
- Oklahoma State University Extension, Managing Pressure in the Home Irrigation System: https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/managing-pressure-in-the-home-irrigation-system (opened 2026-10-21)
Amazon listings, read 2026-10-22:
- NearMoon NM-SHS-802, fixed: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PTQF33X
- GUSTANO XFD004, fixed: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GWZJGGR6
- Delta 75700, handheld: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000LV7VXW
- Moen Engage Magnetix 26100EP, handheld: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DVS40TE
- Moen Verso 220C2, combo: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BDC7K1VK
- Newfinde SD7023, combo: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FMK5KNFS