Best Rain Shower Heads: Size, Flow and Fit
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are looking for the best rain shower heads, start with three facts on the listing: the face size, any stated flow, and how the head attaches to your shower arm. A rain head is a fixed overhead head that sends water down from above, unlike a handheld spray you hold in your hand. This guide reads six fixed rain heads from their Amazon listings and explains what each figure means. It also marks where the listings are silent, because the sources opened do not set a size standard for rain heads.
Quick answer
- A rain head is a fixed overhead head. All six heads here are fixed, and none is sold with a handheld spray.
- Only one of the six listings gives a gallons-per-minute figure: SparkPod, which says 1.8 GPM as shipped and includes a 2.5 GPM restrictor.
- Four listings give a clear face size. One gives two sizes, and one gives a size only in a variant name.
- No listing names a WaterSense label or gives a shower head height. Check the shower arm and the manual before you buy.
How we chose
The search used two queries: rain shower head 8 inch and rain shower head 10 inch. The criteria were a fixed overhead head with no handheld spray bundled, a face size written somewhere on the listing, and a flow figure only when the listing gives one. Six listings met those criteria. They were read on 2026-10-22. One of them was read earlier in the same run for another topic, and its facts were reused unchanged. The six are presented in the order below, which is not a ranking.
Fifteen other candidates were set aside. One has a multi-stage filter as its main claim, four are sold with a handheld spray, two were already picked in an earlier run, and eight are on the site’s internal exclusion list. Product specs come only from the listing text. Where a listing does not give a spec, this post writes “not stated”.
How to read size, flow and fit on a rain head listing
Face size. The face is the plate that releases the water. For a round head the listing gives a diameter, and for a square head it gives a side length. Read the size from the whole listing, because the title and the bullets can disagree. Two of the six listings here are unclear on size, and this post shows the figures as they appear instead of picking one. No source opened sets a size standard for rain heads, so the face size on a listing is the manufacturer’s own figure. Measure the space you have, and compare that measurement with the figure on the listing before you order.
Flow. Flow is the volume of water a head delivers each minute, written in gallons per minute (gpm). The EPA consumer page says that standard showerheads use 2.5 gpm. The DOE installer job aid lists 2.5 gallons per minute as the highest rated flow for a new showerhead. For the WaterSense label, the EPA says a qualifying head “must demonstrate that they use no more than 2.0 gpm”. The EPA specification example pairs 2.0 gpm with 7.6 L/min. The label also requires independent certification, so a figure near 2.0 gpm is not a label by itself. The specification calls for “testing at flowing pressures of 20, 45, and 80” pounds per square inch (psi), which means flow is always a result at set test pressures. Because household pressure varies, the EPA specification is written to ensure a minimum flow “across a range of household water pressures”. A flow number is therefore a starting point, not a guarantee for your home. If flow is your main concern, the water-saving shower head options guide compares heads on that basis.
Spray and spray force. Spray settings and nozzle counts are different from spray force. A nozzle count tells you how many holes there are, not how hard the water hits. The EPA consumer page says that “spray force and spray coverage were the criteria that most influenced user satisfaction”. The Version 1.0 specification sets a minimum spray force: “The minimum spray force shall not be less than 2.0 ounces”. Four of the six listings give a nozzle count, and none gives a spray setting count. None of the six gives a spray force figure.
Fit. Fit covers four things on a listing: the arm, the mount, the height and the connection. The arm is either included or sold separately, and the listings differ. Only the NearMoon round head includes an arm. Mount claims also vary. Some listings say tool-free, some say no plumber is needed, and none says drill-free. No listing gives a shower head height, and no source opened gives a standard height. The listings describe a fit to a standard shower arm, but the sources do not confirm any thread size, so check the thread on your arm or in its manual before you order. For the joints, the DOE installer job aid says: “Use thread tape at all connections.” The New Jersey guidance says: “Wrap thread seal tape in a clockwise direction two or three times around the threads of the shower arm”. Turn the water off before you start, and tighten carefully. If a connection leaks, the New Jersey guidance says to re-wrap the threads and carefully tighten again with an adjustable wrench. Then turn the water on, and the guidance says: “Turn the water on and check for leaks.”
The six rain shower heads
The six listings below are in the order they were recorded for this post. Each block gives what the listing says, a “Skip if” note, one limitation and the product link. Where the listing does not give a figure, the block says “not stated”.
SparkPod RRSH8-C, 8 inch round
The listing says this is an 8 inch round rain head in luxury polished chrome, made of rustproof ABS with a polished chrome finish. It has 90 flexible silicone nozzles, and the listing does not state a count of spray settings. It is the only one of the six with a stated gallons-per-minute figure: the listing says the head is set to 1.8 GPM as shipped, and that an included 2.5 GPM restrictor can be fitted. No L/min figure is given. The listing says the head hand-tightens onto a standard shower arm and takes about five minutes to fit, with no tools. The package includes plumber’s tape and a spare washer. For straight-down overhead rain, the listing says an adjustable shower arm extension is needed, and that the extension is sold separately. The 1.8 GPM figure is below the 2.0 gpm WaterSense limit, but the listing names no WaterSense label, and the EPA says a label requires independent certification.
Skip if you need a shower arm in the box, because the listing says the extension is sold separately. The limitation is that spray settings are not stated, so the nozzle count is the only spray detail on the page.
NearMoon NM-SHRDG-806, round with shower arm
The listing says this is a round chrome rain head in 100 percent stainless steel. The listing gives two face sizes. In one place the face is 8 inch round, and the bullets describe a 6 inch shower head with an 8 inch shower arm. The bullets also mention 90 self-cleaning silicone nozzles, an ultra-slim head and air-in technology. No gallons-per-minute figure is given, so flow is not stated. The shower arm is included and is listed as 8 inch stainless steel. The install steps are Teflon tape, then the arm, then the head, and the listing says the install takes under ten minutes. The listing does not say whether the fit is tool-free or drill-free. It names no certification, and its connection is described only as a standard thread connection in the USA.
Skip if you need a stated flow figure, because none is given. The limitation is the face size: until the size is confirmed, you cannot check the head against your shower’s layout.
GURIN ULTSHHEAD, 6 inch
The title describes a 6 inch rain shower head in luxury polished chrome. The listing says the body is rustproof ABS plastic and that it has 90 anti-clog silicone nozzles. It gives no gallons-per-minute figure and no L/min figure, so flow is not stated. The listing says the head fits any standard shower arm and names a thread standard in its bullets. The sources opened do not confirm that standard, so check the arm or the manual. Mounting is tool-free according to the listing, with an install of about one minute. The shower arm is sold separately. The bullets say an additional water filter is included. The listing names no filter stage and no certification, and its main claim is about rain flow rather than filtration. The product table lists an item weight of 14.1 oz.
Skip if you want a metal body or a stated flow figure. The limitation is the included filter: the listing names no stage, certification or removal claim, so the sources opened do not say what it does.
AULEEND BNW0112, 10 inch round
The listing gives a 10 inch round face. The bullets describe an all-metal stainless steel head, and they say the finish is chrome or matte black. The title mentions high water flow. The bullets say the head is 1.2 inches thin and that it saves 30 percent water without losing strong flow. The listing gives no baseline and no gallons-per-minute figure, so the 30 percent cannot be checked against a flow number. The bullets also name a California Energy Commission standard, CEC-2023. The sources opened do not explain what that standard tests, so this post does not describe it. The listing says the head screws onto any standard shower arm and that no plumber is needed. Connection size is not stated, and the listing does not say whether the fit is tool-free or drill-free. The product table lists only the head as included. The bullets add Teflon tape and a rubber washer.
Skip if you need a stated flow figure before you buy, or a stated connection size. The limitation is the part number: the product table gives BNW0093, which differs from the model number BNW0112, so confirm the exact product before you order.
AULEEND BNW0088, square
The title describes a square rain head with high flow, but the listing gives no gallons-per-minute figure, so flow is not stated. The face size is not clearly stated. The variant name says 10, and the bullets do not give a size. The listing gives the finish as chrome, and the bullets describe a commercial grade finish. The bullets say the body is solid brass with corrosion protection on the large head, and they also describe reinforced metal. The connection is not stated, and the listing does not say whether the head is tool-free or drill-free. The bullets list the Energy Policy Act of 1992, a plumbing standard (ASME A112.18.1/CSA B125.1) and a California Energy Commission registration. The DOE page confirms that the 1992 Act added water conservation standards for showerheads. The sources opened do not cover the plumbing standard or the registration. The bullets also mention a waterfall ceiling device, and the product table lists only the head as included.
Skip if you need a clear face size or connection type before you buy. The limitation is the size: the only size figure is in a variant name, and the product table part number, BNW0090, differs from the model number, BNW0088.
NearMoon NM-SHS-802, 8 inch square
The listing gives an 8 inch square face in chrome. The bullets describe 100 percent solid stainless steel with silicone nozzles, and they say the head is a single rain spray with 100 nozzles. The title says high flow, but the listing gives no gallons-per-minute or L/min figure, so flow is not stated. The bullets mention a swivel ball connector, and the connection size is not stated. The bullets say installation is tool-free and takes a few minutes, and that the head works with wall- or ceiling-mounted shower arms. The product table lists the head as the only included component. The listing names no certification.
Skip if you need a stated flow figure or a named certification, since neither is given. The limitation is the connection: the listing names a swivel ball connector but no connection size, so check the arm before you order.
The table repeats only the stated facts. “Not stated” means the listing does not give that figure.
| Head and model | Face size | Flow | Spray settings | Arm and mount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SparkPod RRSH8-C | 8 inch round | 1.8 GPM as shipped; 2.5 GPM restrictor included; L/min not stated | Not stated (90 nozzles) | Arm not in the included list; extension sold separately; tool-free per listing |
| NearMoon NM-SHRDG-806 | Two sizes given: 8 inch and 6 inch | Not stated | Not stated (90 nozzles) | 8 inch arm included; tool-free and drill-free not stated |
| GURIN ULTSHHEAD | 6 inch | Not stated | Not stated (90 nozzles) | Arm sold separately; tool-free per listing |
| AULEEND BNW0112 | 10 inch round | Not stated | Not stated | Head only in the included list; no plumber needed per listing; tool-free not stated |
| AULEEND BNW0088 | Square; size not clearly stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| NearMoon NM-SHS-802 | 8 inch square | Not stated | Not stated (100 nozzles) | Head only in the included list; tool-free per bullets |
What we could not verify: what the sources do not say
The gaps below are the points the sources opened do not settle. Each one matters when you compare rain heads.
- No source sets a size standard for rain heads, so each face size here is the manufacturer’s own figure.
- The EPA consumer page says Version 1.1 of the WaterSense specification also revised the spray force testing protocol “to accommodate water-efficient rain showers.” The sources opened do not give those criteria, so this post cannot say what a rain head must meet.
- The copy of the EPA specification opened is labelled Version 1.0, dated March 4, 2010. The EPA consumer page says the Version 1.1 changes are minor: “The specification changes are minor and clarify the existing requirements”. Both documents give the 2.0 gpm limit, which this post relies on.
- No source opened gives a shower arm thread size. Check the arm or the manual before you buy.
- No source opened gives a standard shower head height above the floor.
- The sources do not describe a shower head changing the supply pressure in a house. The only pressure range in the sources comes from an irrigation fact sheet from Oklahoma State University Extension, which gives about 40 to 60 psi as a general residential range. It is not a shower figure.
- The sources do not give cleaning soak limits for brass, nickel, gold or matte black finishes. The New Jersey guidance describes an overnight vinegar soak, but it does not say whether that suits every finish.
- The GURIN listing includes a filter, but the listing names no stage, certification or removal claim, and the sources opened do not describe what a shower filter removes or how long it lasts.
- The California Energy Commission and ASME references in two listings are listing claims. The sources opened do not explain what those standards test.
- The NearMoon round listing gives two face sizes, and both AULEEND listings give product table part numbers that differ from their model numbers. No source resolves these points.
Frequently asked questions
Is a rain shower head the same as a handheld?
No. A rain head is fixed overhead, and a handheld is held in the hand, usually on a hose or a bracket. All six heads in this post are fixed, and none is sold with a handheld spray. If you want a fixed head and a handheld on one setup, see the dual shower head with slide bar guide. If you only want a handheld, the handheld shower heads with extension hoses guide covers that case.
What flow number should I look for on a rain head?
Look for a figure in gallons per minute. The EPA consumer page says standard showerheads use 2.5 gpm, and a WaterSense label requires a head to demonstrate no more than 2.0 gpm. Among these six, only SparkPod gives a gpm figure, and its listing says 1.8 GPM as shipped. If a listing gives no figure, the flow is unknown, and you cannot compare it with the 2.0 gpm limit.
Will a rain head fix weak flow in my shower?
Not by itself. The sources opened do not describe a shower head changing the supply pressure in a house, so a new head cannot be assumed to fix weak flow. The EPA specification is written around a minimum flow across a range of household water pressures, which suggests the house matters. The New Jersey guidance also says that minerals can build up and block the nozzles, and it describes clearing clogged holes with a needle or a straightened paper clip. Check the nozzles before you assume the head is the problem.
Do I need a shower arm to install one of these?
It depends on the listing. The NearMoon round head is the one listing that includes an arm. The other five either sell the arm separately or do not list one as included. No listing gives a shower height, so the sources cannot tell you where the arm should sit. If you need a height that can change, the sliding shower head options guide covers that case.
How do I know the head will fit my shower arm?
The listings describe a fit to a standard shower arm, but the sources opened do not give a thread size. Check the thread on your arm or in its manual before you order. The DOE installer job aid says to use thread tape at all connections, and the New Jersey guidance covers re-wrapping and re-tightening if a connection leaks. If you rent, or you cannot drill, the drill-less shower slide bar options guide covers mounts that do not need drilling.
Does any of these heads include a filter?
Only the GURIN listing says an additional water filter is included. The listing names no filter stage, no certification and no removal claim, so this post cannot say what the filter removes or how long it lasts. The sources opened do not give a replacement interval for shower filters either. For any filter claim that matters to you, check the manufacturer’s own documents before you buy.
Bottom line
Buy a rain head only when its listing gives both a face size that fits your shower and a flow figure you can compare with the 2.0 gpm limit. If either one is missing, check the shower arm, the manual and your house supply before you buy.
Sources
- EPA, WaterSense Specification for Showerheads, labelled Version 1.0 (March 4, 2010; PDF): https://www.epa.gov/sites/default/files/2017-01/documents/ws-products-spec-showerheads.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- EPA, WaterSense: Showerheads (consumer page): https://www.epa.gov/watersense/showerheads (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. Department of Energy, Showerheads (page): https://www.energy.gov/eere/buildings/showerheads (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. Department of Energy, Install a Low-Flow Showerhead, Weatherization Installer Job Aid 24-1 (PDF, July 2024): https://www.energy.gov/sites/default/files/2024-07/24-1_install-low-flow-showerhead.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- New Jersey Department of Health, Guidance for Removing and Cleaning a Shower Head (PDF): https://nj.gov/health/cd/documents/topics/legion/ShowerHead_Cleaning_Guidance.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- Oklahoma State University Extension, Managing Pressure in the Home Irrigation System (irrigation fact sheet): https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/managing-pressure-in-the-home-irrigation-system (opened 2026-10-21)
- Listing, SparkPod RRSH8-C: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B8S4P66R (read 2026-10-22)
- Listing, NearMoon NM-SHRDG-806: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08F36Y26V (read 2026-10-22)
- Listing, GURIN ULTSHHEAD: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08SJ7V4JK (read 2026-10-22)
- Listing, AULEEND BNW0112: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D1PB1FL8 (read 2026-10-22)
- Listing, AULEEND BNW0088: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D1PCJBDZ (read 2026-10-22)
- Listing, NearMoon NM-SHS-802: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PTQF33X (read 2026-10-22)